A Bloodsmoor romance

Book Cover
Series:
Gothic trilogy volume 2.
Publisher:
Dutton,
Pub. Date:
[1982]
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era-one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence. Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde. Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.
Also in This Series
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780525241126
9780062269201
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a0f0ef60-e5c1-8c51-0a95-4d1232363cfd
Grouping Title bloodsmoor romance
Grouping Author oates joyce carol
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-10 01:06:21AM
Last Indexed 2019-02-21 04:21:27AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Oates, Joyce Carol, 1938-
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Oates, Joyce Carol
available_at_western Western Colorado University
collection_western General
detailed_location_western WCU Book Stacks
display_description Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era-one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence. Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde. Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.
format_category_western Books
format_western Book
id a0f0ef60-e5c1-8c51-0a95-4d1232363cfd
isbn 9780062269201, 9780525241126
item_details hoopla:MWT11917580||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11917580||Available Online||||, ils:.b11463193|.i40344708|WCU Book Stacks|PS3565.A8B5|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||wsst||
itype_western Book
last_indexed 2019-02-21T11:21:27.712Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_western PS3565.A8B5
owning_library_western Western Colorado University
owning_location_western Western Colorado University
primary_isbn 9780525241126
publishDate 1982, 2013
record_details hoopla:MWT11917580|eBook|eBook||English|Harper Collins Publishers,|2013.|1 online resource, ils:.b11463193|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Dutton,|[1982]|615 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_western
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b11463193 .i40344708 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 71, 72, 73, 74, 75
series Gothic trilogy
series_with_volume Gothic trilogy|2
subject_facet Electronic books, Fathers and daughters -- Fiction, Fiction, Inventors -- Fiction, Pennsylvania -- Fiction, Young women -- Fiction
title_display A Bloodsmoor romance
title_full A Bloodsmoor romance / Joyce Carol Oates, A bloodsmoor romance [electronic resource] / Joyce Carol Oates
title_short A Bloodsmoor romance
topic_facet Electronic books, Fathers and daughters, Inventors, Young women