A Bloodsmoor romance

Book Cover
Series:
Gothic trilogy volume 2.
Publisher:
Dutton,
Pub. Date:
[1982]
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era-one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence. Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde. Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.
Also in This Series
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780525241126
9780062269201
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa0f0ef60-e5c1-8c51-0a95-4d1232363cfd
Grouping Titlebloodsmoor romance
Grouping Authoroates joyce carol
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-04 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed2019-11-13 03:16:36AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorOates, Joyce Carol, 1938-
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayOates, Joyce Carol
available_at_westernWestern Colorado University
collection_westernGeneral
detailed_location_westernWCU Book Stacks
display_descriptionFinally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era-one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence. Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde. Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.
format_category_westernBooks
format_westernBook
ida0f0ef60-e5c1-8c51-0a95-4d1232363cfd
isbn9780062269201
9780525241126
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b11463193.i40344708WCU Book StacksPS3565.A8B51falsefalseOn Shelfwsst
hoopla:MWT11917580Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11917580Available Online
itype_westernBook
last_indexed2019-11-13T10:16:36.936Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_westernPS3565.A8B5
owning_library_westernWestern Colorado University
owning_location_westernWestern Colorado University
primary_isbn9780525241126
publishDate1982
2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b11463193BookBooks1st ed.EnglishDutton, [1982]615 pages ; 25 cm.
hoopla:MWT11917580eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2013.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_western
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b11463193.i40344708On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue71, 72, 73, 74, 75
seriesGothic trilogy
series_with_volumeGothic trilogy|2
subject_facetElectronic books
Fathers and daughters -- Fiction
Fiction
Inventors -- Fiction
Pennsylvania -- Fiction
Young women -- Fiction
title_displayA Bloodsmoor romance
title_fullA Bloodsmoor romance / Joyce Carol Oates
A bloodsmoor romance [electronic resource] / Joyce Carol Oates
title_shortA Bloodsmoor romance
topic_facetElectronic books
Fathers and daughters
Inventors
Young women